Skip Navigation

Department of Surgery

Faculty and Residents of the Department of Surgery for 2013.

Department of Surgery

The Department of Surgery at the West Virginia University School of Medicine was formally established in 1960 when the School of Medicine became an accredited four-year medical program. The Department of Surgery has 30 full-time faculty and two research faculty. Our current faculty members and residents provide broad and comprehensive surgical services. The department is comprised of divisions, which include; bariatric surgery, cardiothoracic surgery, general surgery, minimally invasive surgery, pediatric surgery, podiatric surgery, plastic and reconstructive surgery, surgical oncology, surgical and critical care, trauma surgery, urology surgery, and vascular and endovascular surgery.

Residency programs offered by the department include general surgery and urology. Our residents train at West Virginia University Hospitals, a 522-bed non-profit acute care hospital and major tertiary referral center for the region. Surgeons and residents utilize hospital facilities including 14 modern operating suites equipped for state-of-the-art surgical practice, as well as a state-of-the-art Day Surgery Center.

 Surgery Staff 


Hannah Hazard, elected to membership in Society

Elected to membership in the Gold Humanism Honor Society in February. 

Read More

Linda Vona-Davis PhD presentation

Linda Vona-Davis PhD presented cancer survivorship research at the San Antonio Breast Cancer Symposium, December 9-13, 2014 in San Antonio TX

Read More