West Virginia University Logo

We are a vibrant community dedicated to the discovery and transmission of new knowledge. Every year we educate over 1000 health care professionals and perform cutting-edge research in cardiovascular physiology and pharmacology, neural plasticity, and lung toxicology.
Our faculty are strongly committed to graduate student training and are major participants in three graduate programs:

Julie Brefczynski-Lewis, Ph.D.
Brain Research through Advancing Innovative Neurotechnologies
Portable PET helmet captures images of the human brain in motion


          Dr. Brefczynski-Lewis, a research assistant professor in the Department of Physiology and Pharmacology at the WVU Center for Neuroscience, is part of a collaborative team of scientists using a portable brain scanner to study the human brain in motion. She is the lead neuroscientist of the WVU team in the BRAIN Initiative (Brain Research through Advancing Innovative Neurotechnologies), launched by President Obama in 2013 as a national effort to equip researchers with the fundamental support necessary for treating a wide variety of brain disorders. The WVU-led team was one of the first groups in the country to receive White House recognition and National Institutes of Health support for more than $1.5 million. Read more


Upcoming Seminar:

Thursday, Noon - 3067 HSN
Summer Recess