Psychiatry Assistant Professor - Medical Director

Posted: 1/3/2018

West Virginia University is seeking Assistant Professor and Medical Director for Berkeley Medical Center inpatient psychiatric unit in Martinsburg, WV. Position is primarily clinical and full-time with both inpatient and outpatient clinic coverage; hours vary and include call. Job duties include: provide clinical care and teach medical students and residents; provide leadership to multi-disciplinary team responsible for inpatient psychiatry services; and scholarly activities are highly encouraged. Qualifications (by the time of appointment): Must have an M.D. degree or equivalent and successfully completed an ACGME certified residency training in Psychiatry. WV Medical License and DEA registration. Candidates should be BC/BE in Psychiatry. 

Berkeley Medical Center has a 30-bed inpatient adult psychiatric unit. BMC is a 240-licensed bed facility in Berkeley County WV with a county population of more than 100,000. EPIC is the system EMR. It has new emergency room and NICU facilities. Also has new wound care center with hyperbaric chambers.

Our Eastern Panhandle location is little more than an hour from Washington, D.C. and Baltimore, MD. A rural atmosphere and a lower cost of living mixed with the easy accessibility to the Washington / Baltimore areas make the Eastern Panhandle an ideal place in which to live. While our Berkeley County is among the fastest growing counties in the state, there is little congestion and traffic. In recent years, a steady influx of urban professionals from nearby Washington, DC and Baltimore, Maryland - have contributed to the growth of local telecommuting and high-tech industries.

The position will remain open until filled.

Interested Candidates should send résumé to:
Tina R. Stover, MS, FASPR
System Director of Physician Recruitment
2000 Foundation Way, Suite 2310
Martinsburg, WV 25401
Office: 304-260-1425
Fax: 304-260-1480

WVU is an AA/EO employer - Minority/Female/Disability/Veteran - and is the recipient of an NSF ADVANCE award for gender equity.