WVU plans for phased return to campuses for fall 2020 semester. Visit Return to Campus: Health Sciences for information. Visit coronavirus.wvu.edu for the latest regarding COVID-19.

3rd Year

3rd Year Curriculum

Besides the clinical facilities in Morgantown the WVU School of Medicine has two additional regional clinical campuses (Charleston Division and the Eastern Division). A number of third year students are selected to spend the third and fourth years at the Charleston Division or at the Eastern Division (Martinsburg, WV) of the Robert C. Byrd Health Sciences Center of West Virginia University.

For the Morgantown and Charleston Division students the 3rd-year curriculum is blocked (see below). Students must spend a designated period of time in each of the major clinical disciplines. The order in which the students take the clerkships is determined for each individual student. Morgantown and Charleston Division students may enter the third year of the curriculum only during Block #1(Summer Session 2), Block #2 (Fall Semester), or Block #4 (Spring Semester).

Clinical Disciplines

  • Internal Medicine
  • Surgery
  • OB/GYN
  • Pediatrics
  • Psychiatry / Neurology
  • Family Medicine

The 3rd-year curriculum at the Eastern Division is longitudinally integrated and organized into two 6-month modules. In other words, students see patients in the different disciplines throughout a module on a weekly basis. The Cushing Module contains the disciplines of Medicine, Surgery, Psychiatry, and Neurology. The Jacques Module contains the disciplines of Family Medicine, Pediatrics, and Obstetrics & Gynecology.