WVU has announced plans for on-campus classes this fall, with base tuition and fees unchanged. Visit coronavirus.wvu.edu for the latest regarding COVID-19.

Edgar F. Heiskell Jr. Memorial Visiting Professor Lectureship

The Heiskell Memorial Lectureship was established in 1976 by the West Virginia Chapter of the American College of Surgeons with an endowment in Dr. Edgar F. Heiskell’s memory. Dr. Heiskell and his father before him, both surgeons, played key roles in developing comprehensive health care for residents in Monongalia County and surrounding areas. In 1926, the elder Dr. Heiskell bought a private hospital from the estate of a private physician, which he named Heiskell Memorial Hospital. In 1943, Dr. Heiskell Jr. helped his father build a new hospital adjacent to the site of the old one that was torn down. Included in this new thirty-five-bed hospital was a three-year nursing program that graduated some very highly trained nurses. The hospital’s operating room was regarded as “one of the best appointed in the state” at that time. The hospital also was one of the first in the state designed to be fire safe. The Heiskell family sold the hospital in 1950 to the Pallotti Sisters, a Catholic Nursing Sisterhood. It became St. Vincent Pallotti Hospital, and later the downtown division of Monongalia General Hospital.

Dr. Heiskell Jr., a past president of the state American College of Surgeons, was instrumental in establishing the WVU Medical Center. In addition to operating his private practice, he served as one of WVU’s first clinical professors. His son, Andrew Heiskell, M.D., also a surgeon, recalls that he was very interested in medical students and residents and taught many of the surgeons who are currently practicing in the state. Dr. Heiskell died on April 14, 1971.

Past Visiting Professors

  • 2007 Aurelio Rodriguez, MD, FACS
    Director, Division of Trauma, Shock Trauma Center
    Allegheny General Hospital, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
  • 2004 Marshall M. Urist, MD
    Vice Chairman, Department of Surgery, Chief, Section of Surgical Oncology Director, American Board of Surgery
    University of Alabama, Birmingham
  • 2003 Rao Ivatury, MD
    Professor and Chairman, Division of Trauma Surgery
    Medical College of Virginia
  • 2002 James Sitzmann, MD, FACS
    Schwartz Professor and Chair, Department of Surgery
    University of Rochester
  • 2001 Mark Talamini, MD, FACS
    Associate Professor of Surgery, Director of Minimally Invasive Surgery
    Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
  • 2000 Wiley Souba, MD
    Professor and Chairman, Department of Surgery
    Penn State College of Medicine