The Return to Campus website has updates about WVU’s fall semester. Visit and for health resources related to the global pandemic.

Edward Nemergut, M.D., named Chair of Anesthesiology

Edward Nemergut, M.D., named Chair of Anesthesiology

The Department of Anesthesiology has named Edward Nemergut, M.D., as the new department chair, effective October 18, 2021.

Dr. Nemergut joins WVU from the University of Virginia where he served as the Frederic A. Berry Professor of Anesthesiology and a professor of neurosurgery, as well as a vice-chair in the Department of Anesthesiology.

“I am honored to join the WVU family,” Nemergut said. “I look forward to advancing the Department’s mission of providing world-class care to West Virginians through excellence in clinical care, research, and education.”

Nemergut received his undergraduate and medical degrees from Indiana University completing residency at University of Virginia. He is board-certified by the American Board of Anesthesiology.

“We’re thrilled to have Dr. Nemergut bring his passion for innovation, patient care and teaching to our Mountaineer family,” Clay Marsh, M.D., vice president and executive dean for Health Sciences, said. “His dedication to the field and his vision for the department make him a great asset to an already robust and growing program.”

Nemergut will fill the position soon to be vacated by Robert Johnstone, M.D., who has served as the department’s chair during various times over his tenure with WVU.

For more information on WVU Anesthesiology visit,