Vallejo appointed to ACGME Residency Review Committee

Vallejo appointed to ACGME Residency Review Committee

Manuel Vallejo, M.D., DMD, associate dean and designated institutional official for the West Virginia University School of Medicine, vice chair for Faculty Development and Institutional Affairs, Department of Anesthesiology was elected chair of the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education Anesthesiology Residency Review Committee.

His two-year term will begin July 1, 2023. Vallejo served the past three years as the vice-chair of the committee.

“I’m honored to continue the work that I’ve started with my peers in the committee as we advance education and ensure that trainees across the country have access to programs that meet the standards in training competent and well-practiced physicians,” said Vallejo.

As chair, Vallejo will also represent the specialty of anesthesiology as a member of the ACGME Council of Review Committee Chairs.

Vallejo will also participate in a combined ACGME-American Board of Medical Specialties symposium to accelerate the development of, and transition to, competency-based medical education in graduate medical education with the objective to recognize the role and importance of the five essential core components of competency-based medical education.

The ACGME residency review committees outline the core competencies and standards of quality that the organization upholds for each specialty and subspecialty program.