Faculty Arrivals - October 2015

Michael Kolodney, MD, PhD joins the Department of Medicine as Section Chief of Dermatology. Dr. Kolodney was most recently an associate professor of medicine, dermatology section chief and program director at Carilion Clinic/Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine in Roanoke, VA. 

Ramiro Navia, MD has been appointed the Grace Kinney Mead Chair of Geriatrics in the Department of Medicine. Prior to joining WVU Dr. Navia was a geriatric medicine attending at the University of Texas Health Science Center, Division of Community Geriatric and Palliative Medicine, San Antonio, Texas.

Kevin Mullen, MD is the new Section Chief of Digestive Diseases in the Department of Medicine. Dr. Mullen was a research gastroenterologist at Metro Health Medical Center in Cleveland, OH, and a professor of medicine at Case Western Reserve University. His clinical and research interests are hepatitis C and hepatic encephalopathy.

Theodore Katner, MD joins the Department of Neurology’s stroke team. He was previously the Medical Director of Stroke at Owensboro Health Regional Hospital, Owensboro, KY. He completed neurovascular fellowship at Vanderbilt.

Joedy Daristotle, MD is a new faculty member in the Department of Otolaryngology. He has practiced medical and surgical ENT at Fairmont ENT for most of his career. He completed otolaryngology residency at WVU.


Sarah Kallas, MD joins the Department of Pathology at the Davis Memorial Hospital location. After completing surgical pathology fellowship at Vanderbilt and cytopathology fellowship at Metro Health, Dr. Kallas joined the pathology staff at Bayless- Pathmark, Inc in Middleburg Heights, OH.