WVU plans for phased return to campuses for fall 2020 semester. Visit Return to Campus: Health Sciences for information. Visit coronavirus.wvu.edu for the latest regarding COVID-19.

Leadership and Committees

The Executive Council

The Executive Council is responsible for the government and management of the association. It consists of a chair, president, vice-president, secretary-treasurer and five elected members, each for a term of three years in rotating order according to their year of election.

2019-2020 Members

  • Thomas C. Dotson 1995 (Chair) - Manassas, VA
  • Norman D. Ferrari III 1982 (President) - Morgantown, WV
  • Kai D. Fu 1995 (President-elect) - Orlando, FL
  • Charles A. Moore 1984 (Secretary-Treasurer) - Morgantown
  • G. Anne Cather 1983 - Morgantown, WV
  • Lisa M. Costello 2011 - Morgantown, WV
  • James D. Mills 1991 - Morgantown, WV
  • John C.Y. Wright, Jr., 1978 - Beaver, PA
  • Marc Yester 2006 - Bethel Park, PA

Distinguished Alumnus Awards Committee

The Distinguished Alumnus Awards Committee is a standing committee established in 1995 by the Executive Council to solicit nominations, evaluate nominees according to criteria and select the annual recipient.

Selection Criteria

A candidate must be a graduate (MD or PhD) of the West Virginia University School of Medicine whose career has been distinguished by scholarly achievement, humanitarian contribution, or outstanding service to the institution. This award honors a single outstanding accomplishment, or a lifetime of merit with international or national recognition.

  • Charles A. Moore '84 (Chair) - Morgantown, WV
  • G. Anne Cather '83 - Morgantown, WV
  • Claudia A. Goodwin '74 - Morgantown, WV
  • Charles J. Mullett '93 - Morgantown, WV
  • Larry Schwab '66 - Morgantown, WV

Communications Committee

The communications committee, established in 1991, is a standing committee appointed by the Executive Council with a charge to get the word out, particularly in West Virginia, about the good things happening at the WVU School of Medicine.

  • F. Thomas Sporck II 1972 (Chair) - Charleston, WV
  • James M. Carrier 1978 - Martinsburg, WV
  • James L. Comerci 1980 - Wheeling, WV
  • Antonio S. Licata 1964 - North Myrtle Beach, SC
  • George E. Snider, Jr. 1974 - Morgantown, WV
  • Ronald L. Wilkinson 1968 - Morgantown, WV

Nominating Committee

At each annual business meeting a nominating committee is established, made up of the current council chair and two immediate past chairs to serve for the ensuing year (Association year is from one annual business meeting to another). It shall be the duty of the nominating committee to submit at the annual meeting. . .the name of one candidate for each elective office. . .giving attention to balanced representation. . .with respect to graduate year and gender.

2019-2020 Members

  • Lauren M. Swager 2003 (Chair) - Morgantown, WV
  • Moseley H. Winkler 1953 - Charleston, WV
  • Cynthia S. Clarkson 2004 - Kingwood, WV

Loyal West Virginia Physician Award

Created in 2010 by the WVU School of Medicine Alumni Association to recognized West Virginia physicians for compassionate delivery of health care, for outstanding community service, and for dedication to the WVU School of Medicine.

Selection Committee

  • James D. Helsley 1977 (Chair) - Winchester, VA
  • Stephen L. Sebert 1977 - Huntington, WV
  • Tony C. Majestro 1966 - Charleston, WV
  • Edward F. Arnett 1973 - Martinsburg, WV
  • Robert F. Webb 1975 - Charles Town, WV
  • James L. Comerci 1980 - Wheeling, WV
  • Stephan D. Hanna 1980 - Parkersburg, WV