About Us


West Virginia University (WVU), founded in 1867, is located in Morgantown, West Virginia. It is the state’s flagship university, as well as a historical Land Grant University.

Prior to 1995, West Virginia was one of the few states without an occupational therapy education program (OT or OTA). In June 1995 a program chair was hired, and in August 1995 two additional faculty were recruited to develop an implementation team. The WVU OT Program admitted its first class of 20 students in September 1996 and graduated its first MOT students in 1999.

Currently, the WVU Occupational Therapy Program remains the only Occupational Therapy Program in the State of West Virginia. The WVU OT Program has graduated 21 classes of students totaling over 700 graduates, with class sizes increasing from the original class of 20 students to the most recently accepted class of 40 students. Graduates from the WVU OT program have improved the health care of West Virginia by opening businesses that provide comprehensive therapy services in pediatrics, developmental disabilities, and UE Rehabilitation. Other graduates offer Occupational therapy services to hundreds of WV each day through acute and rehabilitation hospitals, skilled nursing facilities, home health, school systems, and birth to three. WVU Graduates also meet the unique occupational needs of individuals throughout the country and the world with WVU graduates practicing in Alabama, Alaska, California, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Kentucky, Maryland, Minnesota, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, Virginia, and Afghanistan.

The WVU OT Program has helped develop and promote the expansion of the profession of Occupational Therapy in West Virginia. Its faculty members are recognized for their expertise across the state, nationally, and internationally. The Division of Occupational Therapy currently maintains a faculty size of thirteen licensed occupational therapists across masters and doctoral programs.

Division of Occupational Therapy Mission

The West Virginia University Division of Occupational Therapy exists to educate current and future occupational therapy professionals on the power of occupation to foster effective solutions for maximal participation in everyday living, enhanced quality of life, and lifelong health and wellness for all people.  We are committed to cultivating resilient, confident, and culturally aware professionals who promote the distinct value of occupational therapy with accountability, honesty, and purpose.  Graduates from our program will be empowered to transform lives locally and globally through participation in scholarly activity, research, and service to the community.