Annual Alumni Conference

2022 Alumni Conference

Details coming soon.

2021 Alumni Conference

Hadi Seikaly MD, MAL, FRCSC was the Phillip M. Sprinkle Lectureship Speaker for the AY2021 Annual Alumni Conference.  Dr. Seikaly is the Professor of the Departments of Surgery and Oncology at the University of Alberta and Director of Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery at Alberta Health Services

Dr. Hadi Seikaly is a professor of the Departments of Surgery and Oncology at the University of Alberta in Edmonton. He is the Director of the division of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery and the Edmonton Zone Clinical Section Head for Alberta Health Services. Dr. Seikaly is the President of the Canadian Association of Head and Neck Surgical Oncology.

Dr. Seikaly graduated from the University of Toronto Medical School and completed his residency training at the University of Alberta in Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery.  He then obtained fellowship training at the University of Texas Medical Branch in Advanced Head and Neck Oncology, and Microvascular Reconstruction. Dr. Seikaly completed a Masters of the Arts in Leadership from the Royal Roads University in 2014.

Dr. Seikaly is the recipient of the many prestigious awards including the Edmonton Zone Medical Staff Association researcher of the year, the Canadian Society of Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery award for national educational excellence, the Ernest Skakun award for service to medical education, and the Mentor of the year. He is a member of numerous surgical societies, nationally/internationally and has been invited as a visiting professor to over ninety institutions lecturing on all aspects of Head and Neck Oncology and Reconstruction.

2019 Alumni Conference

John Dornhoffer, MD, FACS picture

The WVU Department of Otolaryngology sponsors an Annual Alumni Conference each year, that consists of a full day of CME opportunities, as well as our Annual Education Dinner in the evening.  We highly encourage all alumni to attend the conference and spend the day in educational collaboration with your peers and mentors.  This year's event is scheduled for June 22nd at the Morgantown Marriott Waterfront Place Hotel.  The guest speaker for this year's conference will be Dr. John Dornhoffer, MD - who is Professor and Chairman, as well as the Otolaryngology Research Director of Otology and Neurotology at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences.   Dr. Dornhoffer will be speaking on "Congenital Laryngotracheal Abnormalities: Diagnosis and State of the Art Treatment.

(For the full conference brochure, click here)

2018 Alumni Conference

(For the full conference brochure click here)

Guest Speaker, Dr. George Zalzal

Dr. Zalzal  graduated from the American University of Beirut (MD in 1979, Otolaryngology 1983). And University of Cincinnati (Pediatric Otolaryngology,1985) and stayed on staff for one year.  He then  moved to Washington DC in 1986 and is the Chief of the Division since 1994. The program offers ACGME accredited fellowship training in Pediatric Otolaryngology and also trains residents from George Washington and Georgetown Universities and  combined Army and Navy Program. Dr Zalzal has trained 48 fellows and many more residents over the years. He is regarded as one of the leading experts on the pediatric airway and an authority in pediatric laryngotracheal reconstruction. His awards among many include the Distinguished Service Award from the American Academy of Otolaryngology and the  Gabriel F. Tucker  Award  from the  American Laryngological Association.  He is the author of over 160 publications, mostly dedicated to clinical and basic science research as related to pediatric laryngotracheal disorders. He has presented in over 240 national and international meetings.

Dr. Zalzal is a member of many professional organizations, and was president of the American Society of Pediatric Otolaryngology (ASPO) in 2003-2004. He served for ten years as the associate editor for JAMA- Archives of Otolaryngology Head and Neck surgery , and is on the editorial review board and a reviewer for many specialty journals. 

2017 Alumni Conference

Held at the Waterfront Place Hotel

June 10, 2017