WVU plans for phased return to campuses for fall 2020 semester. Visit Return to Campus: Health Sciences for information. Visit coronavirus.wvu.edu for the latest regarding COVID-19.

Allen M. Lewis Memorial Book Award

This award was established by the Class of 1987 and the friends and family of Allen M. Lewis. The award is given to a senior medical student selected by their peers who demonstrates "a personal demeanor in which altruism and critical thought coexist in a complementary fashion; a facility in developing a constructive and caring rapport with both peers and patients; the ability to act concurrently as a objective and detached practitioner of medicine and an empathetic patient advocate; and a pervasive understanding that the art of medicine and its practical applications are as important tot he care of the patient as the science of medicine."

Award Recipients


Scott Roberts, Morgantown

Autumn Starn, Charleston


Christina Abrenica, Charleston


Sudhir Reddy, Morgantown

Kristen Peros, Charleston


Mark Schwab, Morgantown

Angelo Santos, Charleston


Christina Abrenica, Morgantown

Shachin Phade, Charleston


Corey Van Hoff and Matthew Wilson, Morgantown

Rob Keith, Charleston


Michael Beasley, Morgantown

Gary Nichols, Charleston