WVU plans for phased return to campuses for fall 2020 semester. Visit Return to Campus: Health Sciences for information. Visit coronavirus.wvu.edu for the latest regarding COVID-19.

John E. Prescott Award for Academic Excellence, formerly known as the McGraw- Hill and Appleton-Lange Award

This award was originally established by the McGraw-Hill and Appleton-Lange book publishing companies in recognition of the two students with the highest academic rank during the first year of medical school. This award has consisted of four free books from the McGraw-Hill and Appleton-Lange Publishers.

The MD degree Class of 2008 requested the award be renamed in honor of former School of Medicine Dean, John E. Prescott, MD who lead the school from 2004 to 2008 during which time many academic achievements were made which included the AAMC Award for Community Service, and a top 10 ranking by US News and World Report in Rural Medicine. Dr. Prescott served on the AAMC Council of Deans Executive Council. He wanted the students to do their best academically and to strive for excellence. These students have certainly earned that distinction.

Award Recipients

Class of 2023

Megan Cavrak
Morgan Zopp

Class of 2022

  • Eric Bonar
  • Seth Noorbakhsh

Class of 2021

  • Bayan Razzaq
  • Jasmine Shah

Class of 2020

  • Pranav Jain
  • Elizabeth Swain

Class of 2019

  • Aric Clegg
  • Zachary Werner

Class of 2018

  • Frank Lacy
  • Lauren Rover

Class of 2017

  • Donald Bennett
  • Natalie Ferreti

Class of 2016

  • Lauren Gioia
  • Hayley Leight

Class of 2015

  • Brendan Cline
  • Brandon Lucke-Wold

Class of 2014

  • Jonathan Amoroso
  • Heather Grome

Class of 2013

  • Mark Miller
  • Rakesh Patel

Class of 2012

  • Tara M. Melgary
  • Jill C. Rotruck

Class of 2011

  • Jacob Conjeski
  • Ryan Wilson

Class of 2010

  • Joseph Donahue
  • Michael Ruffolo

Class of 2009

  • Melissa Alleman
  • Anthony Cacco

Class of 2008

  • Carrie Cantrel
  • Jonathan Cristy

Class of 2007

  • Joel Bigley
  • Matthew Hazey

Class of 2006

  • Michael Mishra
  • Bradley Van Dyke

Class of 2005

  • William Cavatassi
  • Joseph Habib

Class of 2004

  • Laine Hall
  • Scott Leslie