WVU plans for phased return to campuses for fall 2020 semester. Visit Return to Campus: Health Sciences for information. Visit coronavirus.wvu.edu for the latest regarding COVID-19.

Glaxo Smith Kline Award

This award is presented to a senior student, one from each campus, who exemplifies the applied personal qualities of character and leadership. The winner is nominated by the clinical course coordinators and department chairs. The award is sponsored by Smith Kline Beecham Inc, and consists of an engraved plaque and monetary award.

Award Recipients


Cynthia C. Clarkson, Morgantown

Nicholas Young, Charleston


Bryan Pukenas , Morgantown

J.R. Romanoski, Charleston


Courtney Markham-Abedi, Morgantown

Eric Adkins, Charleston


John Hancox, Morgantown

Lance Broy, Charleston